THE DEVIL’S TRADE premiers new album | Season of Mist

‘Vid é kek Vannak Idebenn’ came at a strange time for Dávid György Makó.

Makó started The Devil’s Trade ten years ago, as a solitary journey between him and his banjo. But once he started working on this album, he began to feel like that phase of his life was ending – though he wasn’t quite sure what the next one looked like.

Out of that liminal space came ‘Vid é kek Vannak Idebenn’. At times, the new album harkens back to the stark and doomy meditation on folk music that Makó honed on earlier albums. “Clear Like the Wind” is so stripped-down and quiet that you can hear Makó’s right hand sliding up and down his guitar, repeating a simple but haunted melody.

But ‘Vid é kek Vannak Idebenn’ also marks a turning point, when The Devil’s Trade grew into something that looks more like a band. Makó brought in his old friend and former bandmate Gáspár Binder, whose dark and stormy drumming sets off the booming thundercloud of the title track. Makó also leans heavier into electronic textures. Synths shroud “Flashing Through the Lack of Light” like smoke shifting down a mountain.

“This album has given me so much hardship, confirmation, lessons and joy from the first moment I started to work on it, even when it was still a secret,” says Makó. “And now it is out to live on its own. I hope you will enjoy it!”

‘Vid é kek Vannak Idebenn’ is out this Friday, July 14 on Season of Mist. Stream the full album on our YouTube channel HERE.

  1. Én felkelék
  2. Flashing Through the Lack of Light
  3. Vidékek vannak idebenn
  4. Clear Like the Wind
  5. Liminal
  6. Fordulj kedves lovam
  7. All Kings Must Fall
  8. Új hajnal már nem jő

View The Devil’s Trade

Headbangers Team
Headbangers Team
We love / live rock music - heavy metal music. We want to support the greek rock/metal scene - we want to support the rock/metal scene around the world. If you need support, send us info about your band at [email protected]

Related Articles

Latest Posts