Prog rockers Jordsjø reveal details and new single from upcoming album. – Karisma Records

Almost exactly two years after the release of their last album, Norwegian Prog Rockers JORDSJØ are back with their third full-length.  Titled “Pastoralia”, the album is a must for fans of Scandinavian prog, following, as it does, the tradition of some of last centuries best Nordic rock by melding Progressive rock with interesting melodies, and giving the whole a Folk-inspired twist. 

As a prelude to its release, JORDSJØ have chosen to debut “Skumring i Karesuando”,  the second track from “Pastoralia”,  and the band had this to say about the track:

“Skumring i Karesuando” is a little glimpse into Jordsjø and Actionfredags mini “Terra Borealis Tour”, where we played in Trondheim, Umeå and Karlsøy in Troms. A slightly scruffy caravan which slowly and steadily marched through desolate and majestic landscapes. The song is split into four parts, called Ferd, Syner, Ankomst and Hjem.

“Skumring i Karesuando” can be downloaded or streamed from a variety of services at:

Well known in the flourishing Oslo Prog scene, and inspired by European 20th century classical and jazz music, JORDSJØ’s duo is comprised of multi instrumentalist Håkon Oftung (TUSMØRKE, BLACK MAGIC) and drummer Kristian Frøland. With “Pastoralis”, the band has produced an album that is a musical journey that travels from minimalist mellotron passages to a full on rock tempest and sees the JORDSJØ moving  further into jazzy, progressive,  musical landscapes.

“Pastoralia” was recorded and produced in its entirety by JORDSJØ between March and November 2020, in the basement of Bjørnerød Gård  in Våler, Østfold. Thematically, the album is based on dreams, a longing for freedom and the fictional place “Pastoralia” – where every day is like tropical nights in Northern Norway, where the forest people dance around campfires.

JORDSJØ are joined on “Pastoralia” by a number of guests including Ola Mile Bruland (ACTIONFREDAG), Håkon Knutzen, Vilde Mortensen Storesund, Mats Lemjan, Christian Meaas Svendsen and Åsa Ree (MEER, TUSMØRKE, WOBBLER).

Jordsjø - Pastoralia CD

Jordsjø – Pastoralia

With artwork by  Sindre Foss Skancke, tracklisting for “Pastoralia” is as follows:

  1. Prolog
  2. Skumring i Karesuando
  3. Mellom Mjødurt, Marisko og Søstermarihånd
  4. Pastoralia
  5. Fuglehviskeren
  6. Beitemark
  7. Vettedans
  8. Jord III

Set for release on Karisma Records on the 7th May, “Pastoralia” will be available in CD, Digital and black Vinyl formats as well as in a blue Vinyl version which will be limited to 600 copies.  It is now available to pre-order from the following: (US webshop)

More information about JORDSJØ can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

A video for the track ” Hulderheimen” from JORDSJØ’s self-titled 2015 release:

Promo and other information: [email protected] 
Karisma Records contact: [email protected]  
Karisma Records:
Karisma Records Facebook: 
Karisma Records Bandcamp: 
Karisma Records on YouTube: 
Karisma Records Instagram: 
Karisma Records Twitter: 
Karisma on SoundCloud: 
Karisma Records Webshop:
Karisma Records US Webshop:


Headbangers Team
Headbangers Team
We love / live rock music - heavy metal music. We want to support the greek rock/metal scene - we want to support the rock/metal scene around the world. If you need support, send us info about your band at [email protected]

Related Articles

Latest Posts